Monitor and influence legislative issues and priorities in support of an improved behavioral healthcare system for the people of Tarrant County.

Goals for 2019

  • Monitor bills filed during the 86th regular session of the Texas Legislature.
  • Inform MHC membership of bills pertaining to behavioral health via the advocacy page of the MHC website.
  • Provide updates to MHC membership on as as needed basis regarding behavioral health policy issues on the state and local level.
  • Educate members regarding the impact of legislation passed during the 86th regular session. 

What's Happening?

The Advocacy committee presented a Legislative update at the April 2019 membership meeting.  Here is the list of panelists, along with their downloadable presentations.
     Juvenile Justice
     Riley Shaw, Assistant Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney
          Riley Shaw Presentation
     Todd Landry, Ed.D., CEO, Lena Pope
           Todd Landry Presentation
     Child Welfare
     Wayne Carson, Ph.D., CEO, ACH Child and Family Services
           Wayne Carson Presentation
      Mental Health
      Ramey Heddins, Director, MHMRTC
           Ramey Heddins Presentation
      Substance Use Disorders
     Jennifer Gilley, Executive Director, Tarrant County Challenge


Meeting Date, Time, Location

The third Thursday of every month (as needed), 3:00pm, location TBD


Jennifer Gilley Executive Director Challenge of Tarrant County (817) 336-6617

Susan Garnett CEO MHMRTC

Committee Members

Joan Barcellona Family Emeritus

Hannah Bednar Texas Christian University Intern

Judge Brent Carr Tarrant County Criminal Court #9

Michael Chaney Mind Above Matter

Pat Cheong United Way of Tarrant County

Julie Evans Alliance for Children

Linda Garcia ACH Child and Family Services/Our Community Our Kids

Paul Gravley The Parenting Center

Virginia Hoft Santa Fe Youth Services

Leighton Iles Community Supervision and Corrections Dept

Todd Landry CEO Lena Pope

Michelle McQueen Recovery Resource Council

Chris Ponder Tarrant County

Connie Ragsdale Recovery Resource Council

Matt Robison Child Study Center

Natalie Rose Tarrant County

Michael Steinert Fort Worth ISD

Contact Us

3136 W. 4th Street
Fort Worth, TX. 76107
United States

Virginia Hoft, Executive Director 

For more information call: 817.927.5200 or email: